Quick Summary
- Rajalakshmi School of Business (RSB) is located in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.
- The institute offers a two-year, full-time PGDM programme.
- The official published Holistic PGDM fee is ₹9,90,000.
- The admission payment listed is ₹1,75,000.Five additional instalments of ₹1,63,000 each are listed.
- The total includes a refundable caution deposit of ₹10,000.
- The published schedule lists payment dates from August 2026 to December 2027.
- A separate current hostel and mess fee is not stated in the cited schedule.
- The official website lists CAT, XAT, MAT, CMAT, GMAT, ATMA and TANCET as accepted entrance examinations.
- Applicants should verify the applicable fee schedule, accommodation charges and refund terms before paying.
Rajalakshmi School of Business Fees: Complete Fee Structure, Tuition Fees, Hostel Fees & Other Charges
Introduction
Students comparing management colleges in Chennai need to look beyond the headline programme fee. The actual cost of a postgraduate management diploma can depend on the payment schedule, refundable deposits, accommodation, meals, transport, study materials and personal living expenses. Understanding these components before accepting an admission offer can help applicants plan their finances more accurately.
Rajalakshmi School of Business (RSB), Chennai, offers a two-year, full-time Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PGDM). Its official fee page publishes a total programme fee of ₹9,90,000 for the listed Holistic PGDM, with an admission payment followed by five instalments. The published schedule also states that the total includes a refundable caution deposit of ₹10,000. Applicants should use the current official schedule rather than older fee tables that may still appear on other websites. Official RSB fee schedule
This article explains the published fee structure for the 2026–27 payment schedule, how the instalments work, what is known about hostel and transport charges, how to estimate the overall cost of studying at RSB, and which admission details students should confirm before paying. It also covers eligibility, accepted entrance examinations, programme structure, placement information and practical questions about budgeting.
Important distinction: the fee figures below come from RSB’s published payment schedule. The institute’s official page says hostel and transport arrangements should be communicated at admission, so this article does not invent a separate hostel or mess fee. Students should request a written, programme-specific quotation before making a final financial decision.
Table of Contents
Rajalakshmi School of Business: Overview
RSB Chennai Fees 2026–27: At a Glance
Detailed PGDM Fee Structure
Instalment-Wise Payment Schedule
What Is Included in the Programme Fee?
Hostel Fees, Mess Charges and Transport Costs
Other Expenses Students Should Budget For
Refundable Caution Deposit
How to Calculate the Overall Cost of Studying at RSB
RSB PGDM Programme and Specialisation Options
Eligibility Criteria for Admission
Entrance Examinations Accepted by RSB
Admission Process: Step by Step
Documents to Keep Ready
Scholarships, Education Loans and Financial Planning
Placements and Return on Investment
Questions to Ask Before Paying the Admission Fee
Common Fee-Planning Mistakes to Avoid
Is Rajalakshmi School of Business Worth Considering?
Conclusion
About BSchoolBuzz
Frequently Asked Questions
Related Search Keywords
1. Rajalakshmi School of Business: Overview
Rajalakshmi School of Business is a management institute in Tamil Nadu that offers a flagship, two-year PGDM programme. Its academic offering is designed around management fundamentals, elective subjects, professional development and exposure to business practice. The institute describes activities such as classroom learning, industrial visits, guest lectures, a summer internship and corporate mentorship as elements of its learning approach. These programme features are relevant when evaluating the overall value of the course, but they should be considered separately from the amount charged as fees. Official PGDM programme page
RSB at a glance
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Institution | Rajalakshmi School of Business (RSB) |
| Location | Chennai, Tamil Nadu |
| Flagship programme | Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PGDM) |
| Programme duration | Two years |
| Study mode | Full-time |
| Fee schedule discussed | Official schedule listing payments from 2026 to 2027 |
| Published total programme fee | ₹9,90,000 |
| Refundable caution deposit | ₹10,000, included in the published total |
| Hostel and transport charges | Obtain the applicable written quotation from the institute |
| Official website | rsb.edu.in |
| Official admissions contact | admissions@rsb.edu.in; +91 90251 03674 |
The institute’s website is the appropriate starting point for checking the latest fee schedule and admission conditions. Students should also ensure that any document received from an admissions representative applies to their particular intake and programme.
2. RSB Chennai Fees 2026–27: At a Glance
The official admission page lists an admission payment of ₹1,75,000 and five further instalments of ₹1,63,000 each. These amounts add up to ₹9,90,000. The page identifies the admission payment as payable at admission and provides due dates for the subsequent instalments. It also says that the total includes a refundable caution deposit of ₹10,000. Source: RSB official admission process
| Fee component | Published amount | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|
| Admission payment | ₹1,75,000 | At the time of admission |
| First instalment | ₹1,63,000 | 5 August 2026 |
| Second instalment | ₹1,63,000 | 15 December 2026 |
| Third instalment | ₹1,63,000 | 15 April 2027 |
| Fourth instalment | ₹1,63,000 | 15 August 2027 |
| Fifth instalment | ₹1,63,000 | 15 December 2027 |
| Total published programme fee | ₹9,90,000 | Across the listed schedule |
| Refundable caution deposit | ₹10,000 | Included in the published total |
The listed dates are the dates shown on the official page, not a guarantee that the schedule cannot be revised. Applicants joining a different intake, receiving a revised offer or paying after a deadline should obtain written confirmation of the instalment amounts and dates that apply to them.
What does the total mean?
The ₹9.90 lakh figure is the published total for the listed Holistic PGDM payment schedule. It should not automatically be treated as an all-inclusive cost of living in Chennai. The official page does not provide a separate numerical hostel tariff in the schedule reproduced above. Applicants should therefore distinguish between the published programme fee and their complete personal education budget.
For example, a student who plans to stay in a hostel, eat meals on campus or use institute transport needs to confirm whether those services are included in the programme fee or charged separately for the relevant admission year. Do not add a guessed amount to the official total and describe the result as RSB’s confirmed fee.
3. Detailed PGDM Fee Structure
When reading a college fee table, it is useful to separate the amount required at admission from later payments. This shows how much money needs to be available immediately and how much must be reserved for subsequent deadlines.
Fee components published by RSB
| Component | Amount | What applicants should understand |
|---|---|---|
| Admission payment | ₹1,75,000 | Due at the time of admission according to the official schedule |
| Five later instalments | ₹1,63,000 each | Five payments are listed, with due dates from August 2026 to December 2027 |
| Total scheduled amount | ₹9,90,000 | Total of the admission payment and five instalments |
| Caution deposit | ₹10,000 | Described as refundable and included in the total |
| Separate hostel tariff | Not stated in the published fee table | Ask for the applicable accommodation quotation |
| Separate mess tariff | Not stated in the published fee table | Confirm whether meals are included or separately charged |
| Separate transport tariff | Not stated in the published fee table | Confirm availability, route and cost if needed |
| Other compulsory charges | Confirm in writing | Ask whether any additional charges apply to the chosen intake |
The table deliberately distinguishes between a figure published by RSB and an amount that requires confirmation. This matters because a student may otherwise mistake a programme fee for a complete residential budget.
Does RSB charge the same fee for every student?
The official payment schedule provides a total for the Holistic PGDM. Applicants should not assume that the same schedule automatically applies to every future intake, any alternative arrangement, or an offer with specific terms. The admission letter and the latest official schedule should be treated as the controlling documents for the student's own admission.
If an admissions representative provides a different amount, ask for the revised fee document and a breakdown showing the total, payment dates, deposit treatment and any additional charges. Keep the written confirmation with the offer letter and payment receipts.
4. Instalment-Wise Payment Schedule
The published schedule breaks the programme fee into an admission payment and five later instalments. This arrangement spreads payments over time, but students still need to plan for each deadline well in advance.
| Stage | Due date shown by RSB | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Admission | At the time of admission | ₹1,75,000 |
| First instalment | 5 August 2026 | ₹1,63,000 |
| Second instalment | 15 December 2026 | ₹1,63,000 |
| Third instalment | 15 April 2027 | ₹1,63,000 |
| Fourth instalment | 15 August 2027 | ₹1,63,000 |
| Fifth instalment | 15 December 2027 | ₹1,63,000 |
| Total | ₹9,90,000 |
How students can plan for each payment
Before accepting the offer: confirm the admission payment deadline, the refund conditions and whether the published instalment calendar applies to your admission year. Do not assume that paying an initial amount automatically settles every requirement for enrolment.
Before each instalment: check the latest written instructions from the institute, verify the beneficiary details through an official channel and retain the transaction receipt. If a date has passed or your offer contains a different schedule, ask the admissions office for the correct payment instructions instead of relying on an old webpage or third-party summary.
Before arranging a loan: provide the lender with the official fee schedule and ask how disbursements can be aligned with the college's due dates. Some lenders require an admission letter, fee demand letter or other documents before releasing funds.
What if a student cannot pay on time?
The published schedule shows due dates, but students should not infer an automatic extension, penalty waiver or alternative payment plan from the table alone. If a payment difficulty arises, contact the institute before the deadline and request the applicable rules in writing. Ask whether late charges, enrolment restrictions or other consequences apply, and retain the response for reference.
5. What Is Included in the Programme Fee?
The official admission page identifies the total fee and refundable caution deposit, but the payment table does not provide a complete item-by-item description of every academic and non-academic expense. A separate older fee page contains a different schedule, with dates from 2022 and 2023, and should not be substituted for the current listed schedule. Official current admission page · Older RSB fee page
Students should ask the admissions office to confirm the following before paying:
Whether tuition and academic instruction are covered by the programme fee.
Whether examination, library, technology or learning-resource charges are included.
Whether books, printed material, uniforms or other course-related items are included.
Whether industry visits, events or programme activities can involve extra payments.
Whether the refundable caution deposit is part of the total rather than an additional charge.
Whether accommodation, meals or transport are included, optional or separately billed.
Whether any compulsory fee can be revised during the programme and under what conditions.
This checklist is not a claim that RSB charges each of these items separately. It is a way to establish what the institute's current fee covers. A clear written breakdown is more reliable than a verbal assurance or an old fee table.
Included, separate or requiring confirmation?
| Expense | Treatment based on the available official schedule |
|---|---|
| Published PGDM programme fee | ₹9,90,000 |
| Caution deposit | ₹10,000, stated to be refundable and included |
| Hostel | Confirm current tariff and inclusion status |
| Mess or meal plan | Confirm current tariff and inclusion status |
| Transport | Confirm current tariff and inclusion status |
| Books and supplies | Ask whether any items are included or separately payable |
| Personal expenses | Budget according to individual needs |
| Travel to and from Chennai | Depends on the student's location and travel choices |
The safest approach is to request a fee statement that separates compulsory academic payments, optional services, refundable amounts and recurring living costs. That makes it easier to compare RSB with other PGDM colleges on a like-for-like basis.
6. Hostel Fees, Mess Charges and Transport Costs
Hostel fees are often one of the largest costs outside tuition for students moving to another city. However, the current published fee schedule does not provide a separate numerical hostel or mess tariff. RSB's older fee page says hostel and bus/transport charges would be communicated at admission and paid along with the PGDM fees; that older page uses a historical payment schedule, so it should not be treated as the current tariff. Official older fee page
How to confirm the hostel fee
Ask the admissions office or the authorised accommodation contact for a written quote for the correct academic year. The quote should state the amount, duration covered, payment dates, refund conditions and whether the room is shared or private.
Also ask whether the amount covers only accommodation or includes meals, electricity, water, maintenance, internet or other services. Do not assume that all these items are included simply because a single hostel amount is quoted.
Questions about accommodation
Before paying a hostel amount, confirm:
Is the accommodation managed by the institute or an external provider?
What room types are available, and what is the fee for each?
Is the fee charged annually, by semester, monthly or for another period?
Are meals included? If not, what is the separate mess or meal-plan cost?
Is there a refundable hostel deposit?
What are the cancellation and refund rules if a student withdraws?
Is accommodation guaranteed, or does it depend on availability?
Are there separate rules for check-in, vacations or early departure?
Is institute transport available for students who live off campus?
Which services are compulsory and which can be declined?
Hostel versus private accommodation
The financial comparison should include more than rent. Hostel accommodation may combine several services in one payment, while a private room can involve a deposit, monthly rent, utilities, food, commuting and household supplies. Conversely, a private arrangement may provide more flexibility in location and lifestyle.
| Cost category | Hostel arrangement | Private accommodation |
|---|---|---|
| Room or rent | Confirm the official hostel tariff | Depends on landlord and locality |
| Food | Confirm whether meals are included | Usually needs a separate budget |
| Deposit | Check whether a refundable deposit applies | Depends on the rental agreement |
| Utilities | Confirm what the hostel amount covers | May be separately billed |
| Travel | Depends on campus and accommodation location | Depends on distance and transport |
| Rules and flexibility | Subject to accommodation rules | Subject to lease and landlord terms |
No reliable comparison can be made until the actual hostel quote and the student's alternative accommodation costs are known. Students should compare the total cost for the same period, not just the headline room price.
7. Other Expenses Students Should Budget For
The programme fee is only one part of the cost of postgraduate study. A realistic personal budget can also include travel, meals if not included, stationery, a laptop or software where needed, mobile and internet expenses, interview clothing, medical needs and occasional trips home.
These are planning categories rather than official RSB charges. The amount each student spends will depend on where they live, how often they travel, their existing equipment and whether particular services are already included in the programme or accommodation fee.
A personal budget checklist
| Expense | How to estimate it |
|---|---|
| Programme fee | Use the applicable official fee schedule |
| Hostel or rent | Obtain a current written quote |
| Food and meals | Confirm inclusion first, then estimate any separate cost |
| Local travel | Consider commute frequency and available transport |
| Travel to Chennai | Estimate trips based on home location and travel plans |
| Books and stationery | Ask what course material is supplied |
| Laptop and accessories | Include only if required and not already available |
| Internet and phone | Use the student's expected monthly plan |
| Professional clothing | Budget for presentations, interviews and formal events |
| Personal expenses | Set a realistic monthly limit |
| Emergency reserve | Keep funds for unexpected travel or essential expenses |
Why the budget should be prepared before admission
A student may be able to manage the first payment but struggle with later instalments if living costs have not been considered. Planning the full two-year period helps families decide how much can come from savings, how much may need to be borrowed and which expenses can be controlled.
Prepare two budgets if necessary: one for tuition and compulsory college payments, and another for accommodation and living expenses. This separation makes it easier to understand what is fixed, what may change and what can be reduced.
8. Refundable Caution Deposit
RSB's official payment schedule states that the ₹9,90,000 total includes a refundable caution deposit of ₹10,000. That means the deposit should not be added again to the published total when calculating the scheduled fee. Official RSB admission process
However, the word refundable should not be interpreted as an unconditional promise of immediate repayment in every circumstance. Students should read the current admission and withdrawal documents to understand the conditions, deductions if any, required clearances and refund timeline.
What to confirm about the deposit
Is the ₹10,000 deposit included in the total in the offer letter?
What conditions must be satisfied for the refund?
Does the refund require a formal application?
Is a no-dues or clearance process required?
What happens if the student withdraws before classes begin?
Are different conditions applicable after registration or commencement of classes?
What is the expected processing timeline?
Keep the receipt or payment acknowledgement. If the deposit is paid as part of a larger transaction, ask for a receipt or statement that identifies the deposit amount clearly.
Deposit versus admission payment
The ₹1,75,000 admission payment and the ₹10,000 refundable caution deposit are different concepts in the published schedule. The deposit is included in the overall ₹9,90,000 total; it should not be mistaken for an extra ₹10,000 on top of that total. The admission payment is the amount due at admission under the published schedule, so students should not assume that the whole admission payment is refundable simply because part of the total is described as a refundable deposit.
9. How to Calculate the Overall Cost of Studying at RSB
A useful way to assess affordability is to calculate the full expected cost for the period of study. Start with the published programme fee, then add confirmed accommodation and other compulsory charges that are not included. Add personal living costs separately, and subtract only those refunds or waivers that are formally confirmed.
A simple cost-planning formula
Estimated total study budget = programme fee + separate accommodation + separate meals + transport + course-related extras + personal living expenses + travel
This is a budgeting formula, not an official RSB fee quotation. It is intentionally broad so students do not overlook costs that depend on their own arrangements.
Illustrative budgeting worksheet
| Budget line | Amount to enter |
|---|---|
| Official programme fee | ₹9,90,000 |
| Hostel or rent | Enter the confirmed amount |
| Meals not included elsewhere | Enter the confirmed or personally estimated amount |
| Transport | Enter the confirmed or personally estimated amount |
| Books, supplies and course-related extras | Enter after checking inclusions |
| Personal expenses over the study period | Estimate based on monthly spending |
| Travel home and other trips | Estimate based on expected frequency |
| Total estimated budget | Add the amounts above without double-counting included items |
Only the programme fee and deposit information in this worksheet are directly supported by the cited official schedule. The remaining lines must be filled using the student's own circumstances and written quotations from the relevant provider.
Avoid double-counting
If the college confirms that an expense is included in the programme fee, do not add it again. If the hostel quote includes meals, do not also budget for a full separate meal plan unless there are additional food expenses. Likewise, do not add the caution deposit on top of ₹9,90,000 because RSB says the deposit is already included in that total.
Compare colleges using the same basis
When comparing RSB with another management institute, use the same categories for both:
Full programme fee for the complete duration.
Amount payable at admission.
Instalment amounts and due dates.
Accommodation and food.
Compulsory one-time charges.
Refundable deposits.
Transport and other essential expenses.
Scholarships or financial assistance that the student is eligible to receive.
Comparing one college's tuition fee with another college's residential total can lead to a misleading conclusion. A consistent comparison is more useful for families planning a two-year investment.
10. RSB PGDM Programme and Specialisation Options
RSB's official programme page describes a regular two-year PGDM and lists management areas that include Marketing, Finance, Operations and Organisational Behaviour/Human Resources, along with a business analytics diploma option in its programme description. The same page describes elective selection and a requirement to choose a major area. Applicants should verify the current curriculum and the exact award or qualification available for their intake before applying. Official PGDM programme page
Programme features described by RSB
The institute highlights classroom instruction, career enhancement training, industrial visits, guest lectures, summer internship exposure and corporate mentorship. These features can be relevant when judging the learning experience, but students should ask what activities are included in their particular batch and whether any activity carries an extra cost.
| Programme consideration | What to check |
|---|---|
| Course duration | Confirm the duration stated in the current offer |
| Curriculum | Review the latest programme structure |
| Electives | Confirm current options and availability |
| Major specialisation | Ask how and when students select a major |
| Internship | Confirm timing, duration and academic requirements |
| Industry activities | Ask whether any event or visit involves separate payment |
| Career development | Review the services and participation requirements |
| Qualification | Confirm the exact PGDM award and its applicable recognition |
The best way to evaluate programme fit is to match the curriculum to the type of role you want to pursue. A student interested in finance should examine the available finance electives and analytical coursework; someone considering marketing should look at consumer, sales and brand-related subjects where offered. The names and availability of electives may change, so use the current curriculum rather than an old prospectus.
11. Eligibility Criteria for Admission
RSB's official PGDM page states that applicants should have an undergraduate degree recognised by the UGC, such as B.E., B.Tech, B.Sc., BBA or B.Com, with at least 50% aggregate marks or an equivalent CGPA. It lists a 45% threshold for SC/ST candidates and says final-year undergraduate students may apply subject to submission of the final graduation certificate and marksheet. Official RSB PGDM page
| Applicant category | Published eligibility information |
|---|---|
| General eligibility | UGC-recognised undergraduate degree |
| Minimum aggregate stated | 50% or equivalent CGPA |
| SC/ST candidates | 45% threshold stated on the official page |
| Final-year students | May apply, subject to submission of final graduation documents |
| Degree examples listed | B.E., B.Tech, B.Sc., BBA, B.Com and other recognised degrees |
These criteria should be checked against the current admission notification and the student's category documentation. If an applicant's degree, grading scheme or category does not fit neatly into the table, the admissions office should clarify eligibility in writing before the application fee is paid.
Does a particular undergraduate stream matter?
The official page gives examples from several undergraduate streams. Applicants should confirm whether their specific degree is accepted and whether any additional documentation is required for foreign qualifications, distance-learning degrees or grading systems that do not use percentages.
12. Entrance Examinations Accepted by RSB
RSB's official admission-process page lists CAT, XAT, MAT, CMAT, GMAT, ATMA and TANCET as accepted entrance-exam scores. The institute describes these scores as indicators of academic and analytical ability. Applicants should confirm the current year's accepted tests, score-validity requirements and any selection stages before applying. Official RSB admission process
| Entrance examination | What an applicant should verify |
|---|---|
| CAT | Current score and application-cycle requirements |
| XAT | Applicable exam year and score validity |
| MAT | Accepted session and score validity |
| CMAT | Current-cycle eligibility |
| GMAT | Accepted test version and score-validity rules |
| ATMA | Applicable session and score requirements |
| TANCET | Whether the current intake accepts the relevant score |
Do not assume that every examination is treated identically in shortlisting or that the institute uses a single fixed cutoff for all applicants. If a published cutoff is not specified for the relevant intake, ask the admissions team about the selection criteria rather than relying on an unofficial number.
13. Admission Process: Step by Step
The current process should be followed as stated on RSB's official admission portal. The broad steps below provide a practical checklist, but the applicant should use the instructions and deadlines applicable to their intake.
Step 1: Review the programme
Read the official PGDM information, curriculum, eligibility rules and current fee schedule. Confirm that the programme meets your academic and career goals.
Step 2: Check eligibility
Compare your degree, marks and entrance-exam record with the institute's published requirements. If anything is unclear, ask for written clarification before paying.
Step 3: Submit the application
Use the institute's official application channel and provide accurate personal, academic and entrance-exam information. Retain the application acknowledgement and any payment receipt.
Step 4: Follow the selection instructions
Check the current admission notification for any interview, group discussion, written assessment or other selection requirement. Do not assume that the selection stages are unchanged from a previous year.
Step 5: Read the offer letter
If selected, examine the offer carefully. Verify the programme name, fee total, amount due immediately, instalment dates, refund conditions and deadline for accepting the offer.
Step 6: Arrange payment
Use the payment method and beneficiary details verified through the institute's official communication. RSB's official admission page describes demand draft and NEFT/RTGS options; confirm the currently valid instructions before transferring funds.
Step 7: Complete enrolment
Submit the documents and complete the formalities stated in the offer and joining instructions. Keep copies of every submitted document and payment confirmation.
Step 8: Confirm accommodation separately
If you need a hostel or transport, obtain the applicable fee and allocation details. Do not assume that accommodation is reserved simply because you have paid the programme admission amount.
14. Documents to Keep Ready
The exact document list should come from the current admission instructions. The following is a practical preparation checklist, not a claim that every item is mandatory for every applicant.
| Document | Why it may be needed |
|---|---|
| Government-issued identity document | Identity verification |
| Recent photograph | Application or student records |
| Class 10 marksheet or certificate | Academic record |
| Class 12 marksheet or certificate | Academic record |
| Undergraduate marksheets | Verification of degree performance |
| Degree certificate or provisional certificate | Proof of graduation, where applicable |
| Entrance-exam scorecard | Verification of the submitted score |
| Category certificate, if applicable | Verification of category-based eligibility |
| Application acknowledgement | Reference for the application |
| Admission offer letter | Programme and payment details |
| Fee payment receipts | Proof of payments |
| Any additional forms requested by RSB | Completion of institute-specific formalities |
Students who are still completing their undergraduate degree should ask what provisional documents are accepted and when final results must be submitted. Keep both digital and printed copies where appropriate, and avoid sending sensitive documents to an unverified contact.
15. Scholarships, Education Loans and Financial Planning
Students should confirm directly with RSB whether any institutional scholarship, concession or financial assistance is available for the current intake. The published fee schedule alone does not establish a particular scholarship amount or guarantee eligibility for any applicant.
Questions to ask about scholarships
Is any merit-based scholarship available for the current PGDM intake?
Is assistance based on entrance-exam scores, undergraduate marks or another criterion?
Are there income-related or category-specific schemes?
Does a scholarship reduce the programme fee or reimburse an amount later?
Is the award available for one year or the full programme?
What conditions must be met to retain it?
Can the benefit be combined with an education loan or another scheme?
What is the application deadline, and which documents are required?
Do not subtract a potential scholarship from your budget until the award and amount have been confirmed in writing.
Education loans
Students considering a loan can approach banks or regulated education-finance providers and submit the official admission letter and fee schedule. The lender may ask for academic records, identity and address documents, financial information from the applicant or co-borrower, and other records according to its own policy.
Compare the interest rate, processing fees, repayment start date, moratorium conditions, collateral requirements if any, and total repayment obligation. A loan that covers tuition may not cover accommodation or personal expenses, so confirm the approved amount and disbursement schedule.
Plan for cash flow, not only total cost
The programme fee is spread across six listed payments. Families should plan for each due date rather than relying on the total alone. A student may need funds for travel, accommodation deposits and personal expenses before or around the same time as an instalment is due.
A simple spreadsheet with the due date, amount, funding source and payment status can help avoid missed deadlines. Keep a separate reserve for living costs and emergencies instead of committing every available rupee to tuition.
16. Placements and Return on Investment
Fees are only one side of a management education decision. Students should also examine career outcomes, the roles available to graduates, the industries represented by recruiters and how well the programme aligns with their goals.
RSB's official PGDM page advertises a highest package of ₹12 lakh per annum and a placement figure displayed as “97+.” It also makes a placement-assistance claim. These are figures and claims presented by the institute's website; the page excerpt does not by itself establish a complete audited placement report, the relevant batch size, the definition of students counted, or the median and average salary. Applicants should ask for the latest detailed placement report and confirm the reporting year before using these figures in an ROI calculation. Official RSB PGDM page
What placement information should applicants request?
| Metric | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Average salary | Helps understand the overall salary distribution, if methodology is disclosed |
| Median salary | Can reduce the distortion caused by a small number of high offers |
| Highest salary | Shows the top reported offer, but not the typical outcome |
| Number of eligible students | Establishes the group against which outcomes are measured |
| Number of students placed | Helps interpret placement coverage |
| Placement percentage | Useful only when the denominator and reporting method are clear |
| Recruiter and role list | Helps assess whether opportunities fit the student's goals |
| Internship information | Provides context on practical exposure |
| Reporting year | Prevents old outcomes being treated as current |
| Domestic versus international offers | Helps interpret how salary figures were calculated |
How to think about return on investment
A fee of ₹9.90 lakh should not be compared with the highest salary alone. The highest package is the top reported offer, not a promise to every student. A more useful analysis considers the total cost of education, any loan interest, living expenses, likely roles, average and median outcomes where available, and the student's previous earnings or alternative career path.
For example, two colleges may have similar fees but very different placement patterns. One may offer roles aligned with the student's interests, while another may report a higher top package but fewer relevant opportunities. The best choice depends on the quality and transparency of the available evidence, not on a single headline number.
Ask for placement evidence before deciding
Request the latest report for the completed batch, including the batch year and definitions used for the published statistics. If the institute provides only selected highlights, ask whether a full report is available and what portion of the cohort is represented. Avoid assuming that an advertised package or placement percentage will apply to a future graduating class.
17. Questions to Ask Before Paying the Admission Fee
Before transferring the first payment, students should resolve any uncertainty about the fee, refund terms and services. These questions are especially important if the fee page, offer letter and verbal explanation appear to differ.
Fee and payment
Is ₹9,90,000 the total fee for my exact intake?
Does the fee schedule in my offer letter match the current official page?
Is the ₹10,000 caution deposit included in the total?
Are there compulsory charges not shown in the table?
Can the instalment dates change, and how would a revision be communicated?
What are the consequences of a late payment?
Hostel and transport
What is the current hostel tariff?
Are meals included?
Is a separate hostel deposit payable?
Are hostel places guaranteed or subject to availability?
What transport routes are offered, and what do they cost?
What refund rules apply if I cancel accommodation?
Withdrawal and refunds
What happens if I withdraw before classes start?
What happens after registration or the commencement of classes?
Which payments are refundable, and under what conditions?
What documents are needed to request a refund?
What is the expected processing time?
Is there a written policy for the current admission year?
Academic and career information
What is the exact programme award?
Which electives and specialisations are offered to this intake?
What entrance-exam scores are accepted?
What selection stages apply?
Can the latest placement report be shared?
Which career services and internship activities are included in the programme?
Record the answers and save the relevant documents. Written confirmation is particularly useful when the decision involves a large payment or a loan.
18. Common Fee-Planning Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1: Using an old fee schedule
RSB's older fee page shows a total of ₹7,82,500 with instalment dates in 2022 and 2023. That is a historical schedule and should not be substituted for the currently listed ₹9,90,000 schedule. Older official fee page · Current official admission page
Mistake 2: Treating the programme fee as the complete living budget
The published total does not provide a separate numerical hostel or mess tariff. Students who need accommodation should obtain a current quote before calculating their total cost.
Mistake 3: Adding the caution deposit twice
The current schedule says the ₹10,000 refundable caution deposit is included in the ₹9,90,000 total. Do not add it a second time unless the institute issues a revised schedule that clearly changes this treatment.
Mistake 4: Assuming every student will receive the highest package
The highest package is a top outcome, not a guaranteed salary. Evaluate the full placement data, role quality and reporting methodology.
Mistake 5: Relying only on verbal promises
A phone call may be useful for clarification, but written fee and refund terms are easier to verify later. Ask for the official schedule, offer letter and applicable policy.
Mistake 6: Ignoring payment dates
The listed instalments have specific due dates. Build a payment calendar and confirm whether the schedule applies to your own admission.
Mistake 7: Assuming a scholarship before it is awarded
A scholarship should be counted only after the institute or funding body confirms the award and its conditions. Keep a budget that remains workable without unconfirmed assistance.
Mistake 8: Comparing colleges using different fee categories
Compare full programme cost with full programme cost, and add living costs consistently. Do not compare a tuition-only figure from one institute with an all-inclusive residential estimate from another.
19. Is Rajalakshmi School of Business Worth Considering?
Rajalakshmi School of Business may be worth considering for applicants seeking a full-time PGDM in Chennai, particularly if the curriculum, location and career-development approach fit their plans. The published ₹9.90 lakh fee provides a starting point for financial planning, while the instalment schedule clarifies the main payment dates.
A decision should not be based on the fee alone. Applicants should examine the curriculum, available electives, eligibility requirements, accepted entrance exams, the latest placement evidence, accommodation arrangements and the refund rules. They should also compare these details with other institutions using the same categories.
For a student who needs a hostel, the next essential step is to obtain a written accommodation and meal quotation. For a student relying on an education loan, it is equally important to align loan disbursement with the instalment dates. In both cases, the full cost of attendance is more informative than the headline programme fee.
Before accepting an offer, verify the current fee schedule directly with RSB and retain the version applicable to your intake. If any amount differs from the published page, ask the institute to explain the difference in writing.
Conclusion
Rajalakshmi School of Business's official admission page lists a total Holistic PGDM fee of ₹9,90,000, payable through an admission payment of ₹1,75,000 and five instalments of ₹1,63,000. The total includes a refundable caution deposit of ₹10,000. Students should confirm that the same schedule applies to their specific intake and keep track of every payment deadline.
The complete cost of studying at RSB may also depend on accommodation, meals, transport and personal expenses. Because the cited schedule does not provide a current numerical hostel or mess tariff, applicants should obtain those figures directly from the institute rather than rely on estimates presented as official charges.
The most practical next step is to review the current RSB admission page, compare its schedule with your offer letter, and request written clarification on any outstanding fees or refund conditions. A clear cost breakdown, realistic living budget and careful review of placement evidence will help you make a more informed decision about Rajalakshmi School of Business.
About BSchoolBuzz
BSchoolBuzz helps students and families research management institutes, understand fee structures and compare admission-related information. Our college guides aim to explain published figures in straightforward language and highlight the questions applicants should resolve before making a financial commitment. Students should use official institute documents for final decisions on fees, eligibility, payment deadlines and admission requirements.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is the Rajalakshmi School of Business fee for 2026–27?
The official RSB admission page lists a total Holistic PGDM fee of ₹9,90,000 in its published payment schedule. Applicants should verify that the schedule applies to their own intake and offer letter before paying.
2. What is the admission payment at RSB Chennai?
The published schedule lists ₹1,75,000 payable at the time of admission. The remaining five instalments are listed at ₹1,63,000 each.
3. How many instalments are listed in the RSB fee schedule?
The schedule lists an admission payment followed by five further instalments. The published dates for those instalments run from August 2026 to December 2027.
4. Is the RSB caution deposit refundable?
The official schedule describes a ₹10,000 caution deposit as refundable and says it is included in the ₹9,90,000 total. Students should check the current refund conditions and required formalities with the institute.
5. What are the hostel fees at Rajalakshmi School of Business?
The cited current payment schedule does not provide a separate numerical hostel tariff. Contact RSB for the accommodation fee applicable to your intake, including room type, duration, meal arrangements and refund conditions.
6. Are mess charges included in the RSB PGDM fee?
The cited fee schedule does not separately specify a mess charge or establish that every meal is included. Ask the institute for written confirmation of the meal arrangement and any additional cost.
7. Which entrance exams does RSB accept for PGDM admission?
The official admission page lists CAT, XAT, MAT, CMAT, GMAT, ATMA and TANCET. Confirm the accepted exams and score-validity rules for the current admission cycle.
8. What is the eligibility criteria for RSB's PGDM?
The official PGDM page states a recognised undergraduate degree with at least 50% aggregate marks or equivalent CGPA, and a 45% threshold for SC/ST candidates. Final-year students may apply subject to submitting their final graduation documents; check the current admission rules for your case.
9. What is the highest package reported by RSB?
RSB's official PGDM page advertises a highest package of ₹12 lakh per annum. Applicants should request the latest detailed placement report to confirm the batch year and understand the wider placement outcomes.
10. How can I verify the latest RSB fee structure?
Visit the official RSB admission process page and compare it with your offer letter. If any amount, due date, hostel charge or refund term is unclear, request written confirmation from the admissions office before paying.
Related Search Keywords
Rajalakshmi School of Business fees, RSB Chennai fees, Rajalakshmi School of Business fee structure, RSB fee structure 2026, RSB fees 2026–27, Rajalakshmi School of Business PGDM fees, RSB PGDM fee, RSB Chennai PGDM fee, Rajalakshmi School of Business total fees, RSB total course fees, RSB admission fee, RSB instalment schedule, RSB fee payment dates, RSB caution deposit, RSB refundable deposit, RSB hostel fees, RSB Chennai hostel charges, RSB mess fees, RSB transport fees, RSB living expenses, RSB Chennai admission, Rajalakshmi School of Business admission process, RSB PGDM admission 2026, RSB eligibility criteria, RSB entrance exams, RSB CAT admission, RSB XAT admission, RSB MAT admission, RSB CMAT admission, RSB GMAT admission, RSB ATMA admission, RSB TANCET admission, RSB PGDM programme, Rajalakshmi School of Business Chennai, Rajalakshmi School of Business official website, RSB official fee page, RSB fee schedule PDF, RSB fee payment method, RSB NEFT payment, RSB RTGS payment, RSB demand draft payment, RSB fee refund policy, RSB admission cancellation, RSB deposit refund, RSB scholarship details, RSB education loan, RSB PGDM placements, RSB highest package, RSB average package, RSB placement report, RSB placement statistics, RSB recruiters, RSB career opportunities, RSB PGDM curriculum, RSB management specialisations, RSB marketing specialisation, RSB finance specialisation, RSB operations specialisation, RSB HR specialisation, RSB business analytics, RSB summer internship, RSB corporate mentorship, RSB industrial visits, RSB guest lectures, RSB campus location, RSB Chennai address, PGDM fees Chennai, PGDM colleges in Chennai fees, management colleges Chennai fee comparison, Chennai PGDM total cost, two-year PGDM fee Chennai, PGDM admission fees Tamil Nadu, private business school fees Chennai, business management diploma fees, postgraduate management course fees, management institute hostel fees Chennai, Chennai hostel cost for students, PGDM hostel and mess charges, PGDM tuition fees 2026, management course fee instalments, PGDM caution deposit refund, PGDM education loan planning, management college payment schedule, PGDM living cost Chennai, PGDM tuition versus living expenses, RSB admission payment amount, RSB first instalment amount, RSB second instalment date, RSB third instalment date, RSB fourth instalment date, RSB fifth instalment date, RSB total fee including deposit, RSB fees with hostel, RSB fees without hostel, RSB hostel availability, RSB accommodation quotation, RSB mess inclusion, RSB transport availability, RSB fee confirmation, RSB offer letter fees, RSB fee receipt, RSB admission deadline, RSB final-year student eligibility, RSB graduation marks eligibility, RSB SC ST eligibility, RSB accepted entrance tests 2026, RSB PGDM selection criteria, RSB application documents, RSB application process online, RSB admission contact, RSB admissions email, Rajalakshmi School of Business return on investment, RSB PGDM ROI, RSB salary package, RSB placement percentage, RSB median salary, RSB average salary details, RSB placement batch report, RSB placement data verification, PGDM cost calculator Chennai, PGDM fee budget planner, management education total cost, PGDM fees and scholarship, PGDM fees and loan, compare PGDM colleges Chennai, Rajalakshmi School of Business review, RSB course duration, RSB full-time PGDM, RSB programme fee breakdown, RSB mandatory charges, RSB optional charges, RSB student expenses, RSB professional development training, RSB career enhancement training, RSB academic fee inclusions, RSB fee details for applicants, RSB 2026 admission fees, Rajalakshmi School of Business fee update, Rajalakshmi School of Business PGDM cost, RSB fee payment instructions, RSB student financial planning, RSB admission financial checklist, RSB hostel refund rules, Rajalakshmi School of Business refund terms, RSB current fee structure, Rajalakshmi School of Business tuition and hostel fees.
Key Takeaways
Use the official RSB fee schedule applicable to your admission year.
Confirm that your offer letter reflects the ₹9,90,000 published total.
Do not add the ₹10,000 caution deposit twice; it is included in the stated total.
Keep a record of all instalment deadlines and payment receipts.
Request written hostel, meal and transport quotations if you need these services.
Check the refund and withdrawal conditions before making the admission payment.
Verify eligibility and accepted entrance exams for the current admission cycle.
Review detailed placement data rather than relying only on the highest package.
Prepare a two-year budget that includes tuition, accommodation and personal expenses.
Compare RSB with other colleges using equivalent fee and placement categories.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Rajalakshmi School of Business fee for 2026–27?
The official RSB admission page lists a total Holistic PGDM fee of ₹9,90,000. Confirm that this schedule applies to your specific intake and offer letter.
What is the admission payment at RSB Chennai?
The published schedule lists ₹1,75,000 payable at the time of admission.
How many instalments are listed in the RSB fee schedule?
The schedule lists an admission payment followed by five instalments of ₹1,63,000 each.
Is the RSB caution deposit refundable?
The official schedule describes a ₹10,000 caution deposit as refundable and included in the total. Confirm the current refund conditions with the institute.
What are the hostel fees at Rajalakshmi School of Business?
The cited current payment schedule does not specify a separate hostel amount. Request a written quotation for your intake.
Are mess charges included in the RSB PGDM fee?
The cited schedule does not clearly specify whether all meals are included. Ask the admissions team to confirm the meal arrangements and any additional charges.
Which entrance exams does RSB accept for PGDM admission?
The official admission page lists CAT, XAT, MAT, CMAT, GMAT, ATMA and TANCET. Verify the requirements for the current admission cycle.
What is the eligibility criterion for RSB's PGDM?
The official PGDM page states a recognised undergraduate degree with at least 50% aggregate marks or equivalent CGPA, with a 45% threshold for SC/ST candidates. Final-year students may apply subject to submitting their final graduation documents.
What is the highest package reported by RSB?
RSB's official PGDM page advertises a highest package of ₹12 lakh per annum. Ask for the latest detailed placement report to check the reporting year and wider outcomes.
How can I verify the latest RSB fee structure?
Visit the official RSB admission process page and compare it with your offer letter. Request written clarification for any differences before making payment.
Ask a question
Still confused? Leave your question and our team will help you.